Do You Ever Dream Of Playing A Role In A Movie?

film 2We all enjoy watching exciting movies and our favorite film stars, to lively up ourselves, as a source of entertainment, after an exhausting day from work or to create a happy union with families, especially at weekends.

We learn a lot from the movies we watch, as they play with our emotions. Sometimes we do cry, get frightened or laugh on the top of our hearts on some films, since some of the films are very hilarious.

As we enjoy watching films or entertain ourselves, have you ever wished or considered to play a role in a film or be an actor? Days back in the early seventies, there was a columnist, “Nana Ama advices you,” in one of the leading Ghanaian newspapers.

That could be the first time I read my letter in a newspaper, when Nana Ama gave me the advice of how to become a successful film actor, after I enquired from her what steps to take to become a film actor.

I watched my favorite television films, ‘Bonanza, The Mod Squad, High Chaparral, Cisco and Pancho, The Sea Way, The Saint, Department S, The Sea Way, The Persuaders etc, without the opportunity to reach Hollywood.

However, one day my dreams were fulfilled locally, when my father, a journalist and a documentary film producer and director,working at the Ghana Broadcasting Corporation, offered me roles in two of his films, ‘Cocoa in Ghana and Backyard Industries,’ in the seventies. I was very happy indeed.

I believe that everyone has a talent or born with a talent. Some discover that talent early and others late. Unfortunately, some of these dreams can never be a reality, because there is no means, especially when you are born without a silver spoon in the mouth. But we can always contribute to shape the life and pattern of people positively in the society. I am therefore happy to be a writer.

