Twitter: The Cheating Games Many Users Play On That Social Media

Twitter 4

‘Twitter is an online social networking service that enables users to send and read short 140-character messages called “tweets”. Registered users can read and post tweets, but unregistered users can only read them.’ That’s the sweetest and shortest introduction of this famous social media, business men, entrepreneurs and people from all walks of life engaged for their livelihood.

On Twitter activities are tweeted, mails are exchanged and friendships are made. However, since every society there are both good and bad people, the same way the social media is occupied by both good and bad people, including people that take the advantage to cheat and those that do desperate things just to gain followers.

I registered on Twitter in 2011. Among all the social media, Twitter was the one I gave less attention to, concentrating much on Facebook. It seems I didn’t know the worth or significance of the Twitter that time. I got notification of every follower, but ignored without following back. Probably I wasn’t  even aware that I need to follow back, because I was green and amateur to social media.

After learning much about Twitter, it was too late and most of those that followed me were gone and when I became more serious on Twitter, following back my new followers, I realized that the social media I had ignored for over two years, worth more than ‘silver and gold.’ Frankly speaking, it is not easy to build or solicit for followers. People are crying to be followed on Twitter, because the more followers you have, the evidence that you are either celebrity or an important person in the society.

The hard way to generate followers genuinely without purchase, has increased dishonesty and cunning activities on Twitter. Out of the blue comes a message of followers. You want to be honest and sincere, so you follow them back, but after two or three days, those you sincerely followed them, unfollow you to increase the number of their followers. Some even do that the same day. Most people who do that profile reads “Following 1,257, Followers 315. Instead of them ‘unfollow’ those who aren’t following them, they unfollow the follower, they think aren’t important to follow.

Thanks to ‘Tweepdash’ which gives me information of those unfaithful ones to weed them out from my yard. On Twitter you see profiles like ‘Be Distinct.’ He wants to fly but has no wings and wants to be a celebrity by means of Twitter. He follows you and a day after he unfollows. This is the style many Twitter users adopt to increase the number of their followers and be ‘distinct.’

I wonder why people make a fun of themselves in this manner and think they are very intelligent. Greed is everywhere and wherever it exists, corruption and dishonesty rule. People pay for book review to be given a good review and many writers who hate to do such things, are merely seen as bad writers, because they see no review yet for their books.

I will always be happy even if I have one follower, because there is a reason that person followed me. I’m fortunate to have great authors such as Joel Friedlander, CNN’s Jim Clancy and musicians such as Chuck D of Public Enemy and Digital Underground following me on Twitter.

6 thoughts on “Twitter: The Cheating Games Many Users Play On That Social Media

  1. I am honestly stumped by twitter. I have not given it much mind really. I have a handle about a 100 followers and following many myself and looking at tweets now and again. How does one learn more about tweeter and tweet etiquette? Social media is becoming a lot of hard work. Phew!

    Like

Comments are closed.