The Reason I Forget My Birthday Every Year

birthday 3

Many people worldwide, happy or satisfied about whatever they have achieved in life, wished to be thankful by celebrating birthdays. Many spend thousands of dollars, including celebrities, to celebrate birthdays in grand style, giving expensive gifts, including cars to their loved ones.

I may be lost in this world, even though I’m part of this generation, because every year, I forget my birthday. Either my son or wife comes to ask me “Do you know that today is your birthday?” Before checking the calendar to remember that I was born 19th of January. This may sound stupid, but it’s true, because I don’t value birthday.

As a father, the rapid decaying of the society, terrorism, immorality, the decline of Christian activities, the influence of negative activities and the encouraging of all bad things by head of churches and world leaders are my concern, the reason every year, I forget my birthday. I may die today and be gone tomorrow, but what about the life of our children?

Many African children born or raised in Europe are bold to tell parents that there is no God, when in Africa; your child can’t tell you such nonsense. Who are they following and what is influencing them? When I make up in the morning, after asking for God’s protection, I ask God to protect my three sons and lead them to marry women when they grow, because I don’t want to die of shock.

As a writer, my passion lies in writing and reading. Sometimes I forget that the whole day I haven’t eaten. Like every writer my ambition is to create something different in the world of literature, thus; what’s the significance of birthday celebration when I can’t even remember the day I was born?

I don’t think I will ever celebrate my birthday, because it a normal day for me, above all I think children deserve birthday not adults. During birthday parties across the world, plenty of food are thrown into the trash, yet the poor are starving, while thousands go to bed without food.

Not at all, birthday celebration is not part of, but I will be very glad, when my social media friends remind me when it’s my birthday. That’s genuine love, because I love them too.

