I Stand Accused: But I’m Innocent

Worry 1

Photo credit: musedmagonline.com

I am not a professional psychologist, trained to conduct research, perform and evaluate the emotional and psychological challenges of individuals. I am writing this article due to my personal experience and what I’ve seen in families, individuals, groups, and society as a whole.

When we were young, we did many things which we never thought were bad. We were in the ages of no regret, so we feel good and great over our bad attitudes and the wrong things we were doing, thinking that make us great to stand out of the crowd. We only realized the many sins we committed during our early twenties or adulthood.

We can’t turn back the clock after knowing the bad things we did, than regret or repent to lead a better and responsible life in adulthood. Unfortunately, many live the same life from youth till the end of their lives. At school, we feel very proud to say that “I’ve a girlfriend,” even though many of us are scared to talk to girls.

One day while school on vacation, we organized a small party in one of my friend’s house. We invited the girls we like best claiming to be our girlfriends, yet we couldn’t even look into their eyes in a second. My best friend Aldo, invited his platonic girlfriend and I invited mine.

I told Aldo to come an hour after me, in order to enjoy my privacy with Emmy. In fact, that was the first time I tasted the lips of a beautiful girl I loved most during my school days. I felt I was in paradise, after the kiss I realized I’m still on earth. At nineteen, I consider myself too young to enter into bed with Emmy as students. I was therefore satisfied with the kiss she gave me, so I left with her to join the public transport home.

When I came back, I saw Aldo with Aggie, a very dark beautiful complexion girl everyone is proud of. I told Aldo, “I finished with Emmy and she has gone home.” I think Aldo misunderstood what I said. His mind went on different thing. Why I’m saying this? What ensued after was clear enough to know that Aldo misunderstood me.

People in our neighbourhood heard unusual event taking place in the room where Aldo and Aggie were. The struggle became so intense that I quickly went to the place to find out what is going on between them. As soon as I opened the door, Aggie with fury bolted out and all attempts to find out what went wrong were futile. Aggie left with anger without looking back.

I questioned Aldo over Aggie’s temperance, and he confessed that he had wanted to have sex with her but everything went wrong. I asked him, what’s the reason of forcing a girl who doesn’t want to have sex with you?  “You told me you’ve finished with Emmy, the reason; I tried to have sex with her.” I was shocked over the answer Aldo gave me.

“But Aldo, saying that I’ve finished with Emmy doesn’t mean I had sex with her.” I said with emotions, desperately trying to defend myself. Instead of Aldo acknowledging his own mistakes, to apologize to Aggie, he put the blame on me, ruining our friendship without further communication between us, until the time both completed our secondary education.

This scenario took place years ago, when we were teenagers, but it still hurts me. Why should Aldo take my answer to enhance his own selfish desire, when that wasn’t what I mean? After school, I tried to renew our friendship but it seems, Aldo still habours the feeling that I crashed his world. He decides not to have anything with me.

There is no need to cry over spilt milk. I gave up. Years after school, without any knowledge about the welfare of Aldo , I met a classmate who told me of the death of my friend. He had a fractured leg during a football match. The extent of his injury was so severe that he succumbed.

I miss him very much, but I have a clear conscience that my statement didn’t mean that I slept with Emmy, so he shouldn’t have tried to sleep with Aggie, above all, he failed to ask me the meaning of what I said, before embarking on a wrong journey. Whatever the situation, I pray for him to have a peaceful rest, knowing that we shall meet again somewhere in heaven or the universe one day, if truly there life after death.

