What Is The Significance Of An African Politician In Belgium?

 

I don't think any African wants the help of Mr. Collins Nweke because he can't help himself

What is the significance of a black politician in Belgium when the country has a statue of a king that killed over 10 million Africans, including women and children? It’s a disgrace.

In a country like Belgium, that committed so much crime in Africa, both physically and medically in the colonial era, under the administration of the murderer King Leopold II, having a Black or an African politician in Belgium, should have given Africans in Belgium, a sigh of relief. Because all eyes are on him to make things easier and better for Africans living in Belgium.

Some references on Belgium’s crime in Africa in books:

King Leopold’s Ghost: http://www.amazon.com/King-Leopolds-Ghost-Heroism-Colonial/dp/0618001905/

Heart Of Darkness: http://www.amazon.com/Heart-Darkness-Joseph-Conrad/dp/1503275922

Dancing In The Glory Of Monsters: http://www.amazon.com/Dancing-Glory-Monsters-Collapse-Africa/dp/1610391071/

Little Boygium-Wonderful Experience: http://www.amazon.com/Little-Boygium–Wonderful-Experience-Savage/dp/1621372383/

Joel Savage playing the role of the African politician

Just like Africa, many Africans disappear when it comes to money matter in Europe. In this way, to fulfill financial obligations to ease the pain and suffering of many Africans, especially illegal immigrants, we rented an office, filled it with office equipment for the Africans to learn the language, while many come there to use the office equipment. With the dues from the members, we contributed regularly to see the office running. We continued doing this for two years, until financial mismanagement by one of the leaders running the center, led to permanent closing doors of the office.

All those tough and hard times, we were aware that there was an African politician in Belgium, but our efforts didn’t mean anything to him, until I joined the ‘Sierra Leone Welfare Association in Antwerp-SLAWA, to continue the help. Like before, I assisted many Sierra Leoneans with diverse problems, both materially and financially.

I wasn’t surprised when in 2005, on the behalf the Sierra Leone association, I was awarded ‘Certificate Of Merit’ by Mr. Abdul Kargbo, who was then the Chairman, for the selfless services I offered to SLAWA. Where was the African politician in Belgium then? He should have been the one to receive that certificate, not me.

The African politician in Belgium is not among those putting pressure on the Belgian government to pull down the statue of the butcher of Congo, Leopold II

Many African leaders, especially those from Congo are putting pressure on the Belgian government, to pull down the statue of Leopold. They also want Streets named after him changed because that man was a criminal, rapist and murderer. He doesn’t deserve such recognition in this modern times, after killing over 10 million Africans, including children.

If there is no statue of Adolf Hitler, because he killed 6 million Jews, then there shouldn’t be any statue of the criminal Leopold. I have written many articles about this issue and have requested African-Americans athletes and musicians to stop performing or participating in events in Belgium if they respect themselves. Believe me, I haven’t seen any article or heard the voice of the African politician in Belgium over this issue, like other leaders.

Investigating the high death rate of Africans at the notorious Stuivenberg Hospital in Antwerp

The African politician was still in Belgium, when the African community in Antwerp, who were scared to visit the Stuivenberg Hospital, call on me to find out the reason any African that goes to the hospital with a common leg injury, doesn’t come back alive. I investigated and found out that they were killing Africans for body organs.

After the publication of the book over this crime, Stuivenberg Hospital now remains one of the safest hospitals in Antwerp. Being an African, no media ever published this story, but the authorities know I published the truth, else Stuivenberg Hospital wouldn’t be as it is today.

African politician in Belgium clears his voice

Apart from reading his profile on social media, I haven’t really taken the trouble to know what the African politician does in Belgium because I am expecting him to know how Africans in Belgium, including Antwerp, are doing. Then couple of months ago, after writing an article captioned

‘Why Many Africans Are ‘Allergic’ To Reading?’

https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/why-many-africans-allergic-reading-joel-savage?trk=mp-reader-card

The African politician in Belgium, thought its the right time for Africans, Africans in the Diaspora, including those in Belgium, to feel his presence. As soon as the article was published, he came out with this:

“I sincerely have my doubts that Joel Savage has been reading balanced materials judging by the sort of one-sided views he expresses. I see a resolve in his writings to dangerously reinforce stereotypes and disrespect Africans in general, including himself. I suggest Joel Savage embarks on that self-abuse all by himself and show Africans some respect, please!”

Joel Savage’s remarks:

Thanks, Mr. Collins Nweke. I am very happy that this discussion has forced you to join. It’s necessary to let you that I don’t write articles with my own imagination. I make research before making a post.There are hundreds of similar articles online or the internet, the reason many foreign organizations, including non-profit organizations, helping African children to cultivate the desire to read, by supplying books. You suppose to know this better than me. 

I am neither the first nor the last writer who have written such article, so why are you against me alone? The great African-American writer late Maya Angelou, stood firmly and challenged those that wrote, “If you want to hide anything from a black man write it in a book.” So I think this is the right time to challenge those who have written similar articles years ago, before coming to me. You might be pleased over the standard of reading in Africa, but hundreds like me aren’t. Thank you.

African politician’s remark:

Research indeed! I true research would have thought you better than dishing out opportunistic, unbalanced pieces, rather unperturbed! You still don’t get the point, do you, Mr. Savage? It’s unproductive going into a long epistle on your decision to consciously make sweeping and generalized one-sided statements about a people. You have an obligation to use your creative license with decorum but you have obviously chosen to hide under the excuse that those before you have sinned and that it’s fine to continue where they stopped. Good luck to you but let me assure you that you have made the wrong decision.

Comments of other contributors:

Patricia Pitsel:

While I agree that it is important for everyone and anyone to read (the man who does not read is no better off than the man who cannot read), I do have a concern with the vast over generalization that Africans don’t read. There are some 54 countries in Africa – surely the author is not suggesting that the same “don’t read gene” is equally distributed equally over the continent.

Victor Ikoli: Copy Editor at Qatar Tribune Newspaper

Reading books is fantastic but the culture is practically on the decline not only among Africans. I think reading books comes with skill and some people just don’t have it. Their parents didn’t have the skills and can’t read, their partners don’t read. They just don’t see the point to read. It’s a shame, but it just really isn’t part of some people’s lives to read books but things get better with quality book covers and content to attract people.

Toyin Adewunmi: Reporter at The Guardian Newspaper

I agree with you reading habit is fading off, and in order for this country to move forward, we need to bring the habit back to the grass root.

Joel Savage’s final comment:

Hello, Mr. Collins, I respect all those who comment on my articles, I will, therefore, like to discontinue arguing with you. I’m very glad that you live in Belgium yourself, during your leisure hours, please do visit the new library at the Connick Plein in Antwerp, from Monday to Saturday and count the number of Africans in the Library and those you will see at the nearby coffee shops drinking beer. We shall always remain friends on social platforms, but now I’m sorry I need to quit this argument and finally nothing changes my style of writing.

The writer’s opinion: All the seven continents have one goal, to reach the top of Mount Everest. Some have reached, some are in the middle but Africa is still at the place it started. The reason is simple and logical because we hate to learn, yet we don’t like corrections. We don’t even try to do something to realize achievement or failure when failures would have given us the experience to do better.

As for me, I write and my  passion as a writer doesn’t change my attitude or the tone of my articles, because, I don’t depend on either hate or love from readers, so if you hate me, you are just wasting your precious mind. That will rather encourage me to write something that would hurt you more, because “I write what I like.” Tribute to Steve Biko.

