LinkedIn: Thanks For Taking My Career To The Forefront

U.S. President Barack Obama participates in a LinkedIn town hall-style meeting with LinkedIn CEO Jeff Weiner (L) in Mountain View, California, September 26, 2011.   REUTERS/Jason Reed   (UNITED STATES - Tags: POLITICS BUSINESS) - RTR2RVI2

U.S. President Barack Obama participates in a LinkedIn town hall-style meeting with LinkedIn CEO Jeff Weiner (L) in Mountain View, California, September 26, 2011. REUTERS/Jason Reed (UNITED STATES – Tags: POLITICS BUSINESS) – RTR2RVI2

Like every aspiring and enthusiastic writer, I joined LinkedIn social platform to promote my work worldwide, since LinkedIn is the leading online professional directory of individuals and companies with over 85 million members, in more than 200 countries, including business executives, entrepreneurs and professionals from all walks of life.

As a writer, as well as a strong believer in God, I adhere to certain principles to enjoy my life and career as a Christian. Two things I hate in my life is pride and boasting, I always tried to avoid the two, because the Holy Bible speaks against them. But at times one gets into trouble, because of how some readers view or opinions over certain articles.

My articles have got me into trouble in the past, especially when I was writing for the ‘The Voice News Magazine’ in Amsterdam, and the latest was on LinkedIn’s platform, when I decided to encourage Africans to read, since many hate to read. God and the library are my witnesses. I was attacked on LinkedIn’s social platform, including a black politician in Gent, Belgium, when I wrote an article captioned ‘Why many Africans are ‘allergic’ to reading?’ Nothing of the sort breaks me down, so I continued with my writings, caring less if people read or not.

But in life, out of every misfortune comes something good. LinkedIn’s social platform didn’t only generate personal attacks over my articles, but has also catapulted my writings to fame. On LinkedIn’s platform, I had many paid jobs, but couldn’t fulfill them, because I need some time for my family as a family-man, to take care of my woman and two sons. (My elder son is now married and lives with his wife.)

I joined LinkedIn not quite long, but the number of newspapers that had contacted me to write for them are too numerous to mention. I chose few like Diplomatic Aspects Newspaper, Sprout Africa and AfricanBusiness.com. But this is not the end; more invitations were coming in with promises, including some American news magazines. Unfortunately, as I said earlier, I need more time for my family, so I couldn’t write for them.

Once a well known key figure and one of the directors of LinkedIn’s social platform contacted me to write an article about Google, because the giant search machine is greedily taking away all the commercials online, leaving nothing to other search engines and I wrote the article captioned ‘Is the greed of Google cutting its own throat?’

The latest was just last week. I had a mail from the editor of HBCUconnect.
HBCU CONNECT was founded in 1999, by Hampton University graduate William Roger Moss III, who connected with fellow HBCU grad and entrepreneur E. Shawn Starks to create the first African American targeted social network launched as “hbcu-central.com.”

linkedin 2

I was very delighted when He told me that they were going to feature me on HBCU. How did he hear of me? Because he reads my articles. He asked me to register at the website, but all efforts were abortive, because the site is purely for African-American graduates, professionals and students. I never had any education in America, so the system was rejecting my application.

I contacted him over my fruitless attempts. I don’t know what he did, after some time the registration was possible. This was just six days ago and just posted my tenth article. I was overwhelmed with joy when I detected that my articles have generated a lot of interests, depending on the number of clicks they have registered.

In whatever career you are pursuing, you may climb hills and face opposition along the path. Don’t let those barriers and opposition be stumbling blocks along that path. Just concentrate without any distraction and at the end of the dark tunnel, there is a strong beautiful light waiting to shine on your success.

 

