How Sincere Are People, When It Comes To Money?

Money acts as a medium of exchange in transactions. Without it life doesn’t go normal as expected. Many work very hard for money, while others prefer to acquire it through dubious means, criminal or illegal activities. Even though money plays important role in our lives, it has also its evil side. Money ruins friendship, marriage and destroys entire family.

Greed 1

Many use money as a weapon against the vulnerable and the underprivileged. Due to the lack of money many have been denied justice. There are many warnings about money in the Bible, my favourite is at First Timothy 6:10, “For the love of money is a root of all kinds of evils. It is through this craving that some have wandered away from the faith and pierced themselves with many pangs.”

In Antwerp, Belgium, I live in a three-bed-room apartment which belongs to Housing Company: Woonhaven, paying 615 Euros monthly, at the beginning of the year 2014. In the month of March, after paying the stated amount, I received a letter from the company requesting the payment of extra 18.36 (Eighteen Euros, thirty-six cents). I called their office and made inquiries over the extra payment. They told me it’s arrears.

Greed 2

I therefore paid the arrears of 18.36 x 3, for January, February and March. Before the month of April, I went to the bank to change the hiring price 615.00 + 18.36 Euros, to the total amount the company is looking for, since the bank pays on my behalf. That is exactly 633.36 Euros. After paying this new figure, in May came another letter asking for payment of arrears of 10.00 Euros, for the month of January till May. I knew there is something wrong. Either they are making illegal profit or dwelling on defrauding tenants.

Without informing the company, I sent a registered letter to the mayor of Antwerp, Honourable Bart De Wever, explaining in detail exactly like what’s in this article. A month later, I received a letter from the mayor’s office, confirming that the House Company has admitted it was a mistake. The actual hiring price is 615.36 Euros, and all the extra payments I made were mistake. The letter stated that the House Company would pay back the money into my account and indeed they did.

Why do some people choose to live this way? It is not only terrorism, crime and immorality which have destroyed our society, but also greed and dishonesty. Honesty is the best policy. What shall it profit a man to gain the whole world and lose his poor soul, without taking away a pin of what he struggled for? People shouldn’t do to others what they wouldn’t like. To err is human, I have therefore forgiven them.

